The Government appoints Pilar Alegría as the new Minister of Education and Sports

Sports has a new minister. The new Government of Pedro Sánchez takes shape and has appointed Pilar Alegría as the new Minister of Education and Sports. In this way, the Ministry of Sports changes hands, moving from the Culture portfolio to that of Education.

Alegría will succeed Miquel Iceta as head of Spanish sport, who served between 2021 and 2023, taking over from José Manuel Rodríguez Uribes, who was only in office for one year.

Born in Zaragoza in 1977, the new sports minister She has a diploma in Teaching from the University of Zaragoza and has a master’s degree in Advanced Studies in Social Education from the Complutense University of Madrid.

Between 2008 and 2015 she was a representative for Zaragoza in the Congress of Deputies; Since 2015 she has served as a deputy in the Cortes of Aragon, at the same time as she served as Minister of Innovation, Research and University of the Government of Aragon.

Between June 2019 and February 2020, Alegría was a councilor in the Zaragoza City Council and after her time in the Zaragoza council, the now Minister of Sports was a Government delegate in Aragon. Since 2021, she has served as Minister of Education and Vocational Training.

After its appointment, Alegría faces one of the most relevant sporting events in the sports sector on an international scale: the 2030 World Cup. On March 14, Fifa awarded the celebration of the 2030 World Cup to the joint candidacy between Spain, Portugal and Morocco. Uruguay, Argentina and Paraguay will join the Mediterranean candidacy as hosts.

In the new Government some of the pieces that accompanied President Pedro Sánchez continue in the last legislature, such as Fernando Grande-Marlaska, José Manuel Albares, Margarita Robles or Luis Planas. In addition, the executive will have four vice presidents who will be held by four women. To the three current ones, Nadia Calviño, first vice president, Yolanda Díaz, second vice president and Teresa Ribera, third vice president, a fourth is added for María Jesús Montero, who maintains the Treasury and Public Service portfolio.

Among the new ministers are: Ana Redondo García, Minister of Equality; Óscar Puente, Minister of Transport and Sustainable Mobility; Diana Morant, Minister of Science, Innovation and Universities; Isabel Rodríguez, Minister of Housing and Urban Agenda; Mónica García, Minister of Health; Sira Rego, Minister of Children and Youth (new creation) and Pablo Bustinduy, Minister of Social Rights and Consumer Affairs.

The post first appeared on

Leave a Comment