Sun Downs stars monopolize the African League awards, and Qaher Al-Ahly is the best player and top scorer

Stars dominated Sun Downs The South African team received the individual awards for the African League Championship, after the team was crowned champion this evening, Sunday, at the expense of Moroccan Wydad Casablanca, with a score of 2-0, in the second leg of the tournament final, to achieve the title with an aggregate score of 3-2, after losing in the first leg 2-1 in Casablanca.

Sun Downs’ best stars

Thapelo Maseko won the tournament’s best player and top scorer awards, after scoring two goals against Al-Ahly and Angola’s Petro Atletico in the quarter-finals and semi-finals.

The award for best goalkeeper in the tournament went to Sundowns goalkeeper Williams after keeping a clean sheet in 5 out of 6 matches the team played in the tournament.

Williams with Sundowns goalkeepers
Williams with the Sundowns goalkeepers and the championship trophy

Sun Downs vs Wydad

Sun Downs’ match against Moroccan Wydad ended with a 2-0 victory for the former in the second leg of the first edition of the African League Championship this evening, Sunday, at Loftus Versfeld Stadium in Pretoria, South Africa.

Peter Shalulile snatched the first goal for Sun Downs against Wydad in the 45th minute + 3 of stoppage time in the first half of the match, then Aubrey Modiba increased the lead of South African Sundowns against Wydad of Morocco in the 53rd minute of the second half..

The Wydad team tried to score a goal to equalize the match against Sun Downs based on the first-leg result, but the referees’ whistle ended the match in favor of Brazil Africa with a clean double, and they were crowned champions of the first edition of the African League Championship..

Sun Downs raised its tally to 3 African championships by winning the African League, after having previously won the 2016 African Champions League and then the African Super League in 2017, and added to them the 2023 African League, which is the most recent championship of the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

The post first appeared on

Leave a Comment